ooh la leggings 2&3

leggings1

Another pair of birthday present leggings. This is a pair of 3/4 length running leggings made with Papercut Patterns ooh la leggings pattern. My friend’s measurements were between sizes so I marked a size between x-small and small at the waist and graded to a medium at the hips.

leggings2

I know she loves running in bright colours so i wanted a flashy combination for these leggings. The blue print and silver holographic are four way stretch spandex from Spandex House. The black fabric is Supplex a technical fabric designed to wick moisture away from the skin also from Spandex House. I first heard about this fabric from Melissa of Fehr Trade’s guest post about sewing active wear on Colette Pattern’s blog. There is a very helpful list of suppliers on Fehr Trade. This is where I found Spandex House. Their prices are good and shipping to Australia is very reasonably priced and fast.

leggings3

All seams were sewn with a zig zag stitch including hems and attaching the elastic. I finished the waistband in the same way as my previous pair.

I’ve made a matching pair of leggings for myself using the same pattern. My pair are a straight size large but for the next version I will cut a medium at the waist and grade to large at the hips.

leggings4

I altered the side panel into two overlapping pieces to create pockets for my phone and keys. This was top stitched with a twin needle. Unfortunately the pockets sit a little lower than I’d like at just above the knee but they are still functional. I would like to incorporate a pocket into the top seam of the side panels next time.

leggings5

These two pairs of leggings used half a metre of silver hologram spandex and under a metre of both the printed spandex and black Supplex.

I had enough of the holographic spandex leftover to make OhhhLulu Pattern’s Lola Panties in a size x-large with an embroidered black mesh at the back.

silver knickers

 

2 thoughts on “ooh la leggings 2&3

  1. Pingback: PB Jam Leggings | Sew Stash

Leave a comment