ooh la leggings

gold leggings1

Gold holographic leggings. A birthday request for a friend.

gold leggings2

I have made Papercut Patterns Ooh La Leggings once before. For this pair I traced the pattern grading from an x-large at the waist to a large at the hips. Based on my friend’s inseam measurement I trimmed 8cm from the hem. They are still a little long and bunching at the ankles so I will be re-hem them soon. The pattern comes together quickly and neatly. I used a zigzag stitch on my sewing machine for all seams, attaching the elastic and hemming.

gold leggings3

I only deviated from the pattern instructions for the waistband deciding to sew the elastic to the right side of fabric, turn to the inside and fold under, completely encasing the elastic and top stitching down with a wide zigzag stitch. The notches are essential for keeping track of front and back. I’ve machine embroidered her name on the back waistband for easy orientation when dressing.

gold leggings5

The hems are a little ripply but this is not noticeable when they are being worn.

gold leggings4

The reflective quality of the fabric is truly difficult to represent accurately with the light and angle completely changing the appearance. The fabric is very easy too work witch cutting and handling with no issues.

gold spandex

This project used just under the 1.5 metres of fabric I ordered, 1 metre of inch wide non roll elastic and just over one spool of thread. I had originally planned on hemming with a twin needle but finished the first spool without thinking.

 

I had just enough fabric leftover to make myself a pair of Grace Panties from Ohhh Lulu using a black mesh for the sides and black lingerie elastic. I went down one size from my measurements cutting a large to account for using a stretch fabric in the center panels and the fit is spot on.

gold knickers

One thought on “ooh la leggings

Leave a Reply

