Dakota skirt

dakota skirt1

I used Named Patterns Dakota Dress pattern for this skirt. The dipped hem and patch pockets are what initially drew me to the pattern. The pocket trimming was inspired by Louis Vuitton leather details featured on the Cutting Class. I used a soft wool suiting to make this my last winter sewing project for the year. The trim is black fake leather. I cut a size EUR 44 but sewed with a larger seam allowance for a close fit at the waist.

dakota skirt2

The center front panel was cut on the fold eliminating the center front seam. The waistband is just two rectangles cut to the necessary length. Seam allowances were finished with a zigzag stitch to avoid bulk and top stitched down to emphasise the panels. The skirt closes with an invisible zip and button.

dakota skirt3

The skirt is lined with silk habotai which was sewn with french seams and finished with a lace hem. The outer fabric is hemmed using bias binding a a facing.

dakota skirt4

The lining hangs loose from the zipper with the center back seam of lining finished with seam binding and the seam allowance pressed to the wrong side.

dakota skirt5

dakota skirt6

I have previously sewed this pattern as a dress in a burgundy ponti. Shown here with Papercut Patterns La Sylphide blouse. I cut a size 44 and made a 1″ full bust adjustment based on flat pattern measurements. This unfortunately turned out to be unnecessary. While sewing it became clear that the bodice fit was off with excess fabric pooling below the bust. I removed the excess fabric from the center front which required altering the collar shape. I followed the sewalong hosted by House of Pinheiro and A Stitching  Odyssey for this dress.

dakota dress1

The heavy weight of the ponti made sewing the plackets difficult and my top stitching is terribly wonky. I found the cuffs huge and took them in by inches.

dakota dress2

After cutting out the skirt pieces it became clear I had a sizable amount of leftover fabric. I’d been thinking about bag sewing recently and impulse purchased Named Patterns Nata bag pattern. This was a fun sew but the cord straps are proving to be quite uncomfortable. I think I will replace them with something thicker and more comfortable. The bag is fully lined with black rayon lining.

nata bag1 nata bag2

The skirt and bag together have left me with a small scrap of the wool, a piece of fake leather large enough for one more project and used the last of my rayon lining.

2 thoughts on “Dakota skirt

  1. Oh lovely lovely skirt! I am making the Dakota dress too. Your finishing is so professional and neat. I like the idea of lace edge on the lining and the bias bind hem, will incorporate those in my make.

    Like

Leave a Reply

