Anemone skirt

anemone skirt 1 I chose Deer & Doe’s Anemone skirt pattern for this raw silk after seeing Tasia’s version on Sewaholic. The curve at the high waist was what initially attracted me to the pattern. The subtle peplum creates a strong curve from waist to hip that I really like.  I cut the largest size and used a narrow seam allowance as I fall just outside of the Deer & Doe’s size range. I sewed all seams at 3/8″ and this gave just enough extra room for my 34″ waist and 44″ hips. anemone skirt 2 The raw silk is from Tessuti. I picked it up over a year ago on sale. The fabric has a nubby texture and I had to cut around a few flaws. Though it was labelled dry clean only I pre-washed the fabric in cold water and all was ok. It’s loose open weave had me a bit nervous about it holding the structured shape so I interfaced the entire skirt. I used a bi elastic fusible interfacing also from Tessuti. I used a slightly heavier interfacing for the peplums to help them stand away from the skirt. anemone skirt 3 To reduce bulk I finished all the seams with a zig zag stitch. The skirt closes with an invisible zip and I decided not to add a hook and eye at the waist as I find them frustrating. The lining was sewn to the zipper tape by machine at the same time as attaching lining to skirt, giving a clean finish to the inside. anemone skirt 4 After stay stitching the lining to seam allowance I still found the lining wanted to slide up while putting the skirt on so I stitched it down 3/8″ from the edge. The stitches disappear into the fabric texture on the outside. anemone skirt 5 I used lace trim for the lining hem after first trimming the length by an inch. The skirt was hemmed by 1/4″ with a two inch wide velvet ribbon stitched down by machine. I chose to use this ribbon to help the hem hold the structured shape. It has given the added rigidity required but I will be interested to see how it wears over time. The skirt used all my raw silk (1.5m) and 1.5 metres of silk habotai leaving me with just a scrap remaining. I’m very pleased with the final skirt and will be wearing it with blousy tops tucked in and tights. It’s possibly a little short for bare legs.

Leave a Reply

